Headboards

12Feb09

Headboards, headboards, headboards. Headboards can be the essential piece to pull together an entire bedroom. In hospitality, the headboard tends to be even more important because it adds necessary splash to an often small space. I have been working on options for headboards for both guestrooms and a tiny residential project. Both will be fabric covered headboards, one very traditional with tufts and padding, the other more contemporary with a clean wrap and minimal padding.

As I’ve been sifting through inspiration images, the colourful headboards featured in House Beautiful caught the spirit of what I am trying to accomplish in my personal projects…

hb04_rect540

hb01_rect540

hb05_rect540

hb02_rect540

hb08_rect540

hb07_rect540

I’m currently trying to narrow down my fabric choices for the traditional and contemporary headboards I am working on. I need to divide by price, so I can present multiple options from the budget-friendly to opulent. I’ll post some photos of the final selections tomorrow!

(Photos from House Beautiful)

2 Responses to “Headboards”

  1. What a wonderful idea! I have been struggling with finding the perfect headboard for a long time and if I could “make my own”, it would be perfect!

    Thank you for sparking my imagination!

    • 2 Erin

      Just a quick note… in case you don’t already know how easy it is to make your own headboard I’ll post a quick ‘how-to’:
      – Purchase a piece of MDF or hardwood cut to the width of your bed x the desired height (I usually do 1/2″ thickness, but 1/4 or 3/4 will work too).. keep in mind the width of your fabric.
      – Choose your fabric and a medium batting.
      – If you want to do a tufted headboard you have 2 options… real tufting or faux tufting. For the real deal, mark on the wood where you would like your tufts to fall, drill thin holes on the marks. (For faux you can simply sew buttons on to the fabric before wrapping the wood panel)
      – Pin fabric and batting together and wrap around wood. (You will need another set of hands here…). Once you have the fabric wrapped tightly, use a staple gun along the edge to secure. I suggest stapling the sides first, then move to top and bottom edge. After you complete the first side, stretch the material across the wood and mark the location of the tufting holes with pins.
      – Once the fabric has been secured around the wood (at least 1/2″ from edge) attach your buttons through the tuft holes.
      – The headboard can either be mounted directly to the wall (hung) or you can attach to 2 wood legs and perch it behind your bed frame.
      Have patience. It will take a little effort and sweat for all your corners to be clean and tight, but the end result will be well worth the effort! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

