Ah, the joy of the layoff…

02Jul09

Sorry again, this has been a quite week.

As I mentioned in my last post, last Friday I was laid-off from my fabulous (yet not completely fulfilling) job due to a large portion of our projects being put on hold. So, the past few days have been spent trying to get my ducks in a row, relaxing and pondering what the heck I am going to do “when I grow up”…. also known as the day my severance benefits stop. 🙂

Although a bit of a shock at first, I’ve finally wrapped my mind around it and see this chain of events for exactly what it is… a perfect opportunity to start the next chapter of my career. A move I have been mulling for quite some time but continually pushing off until “a better time” and “a more stable economy.” Well, that bucket got turned on its head!

So, now I have to face the choice: do I work part-time and concentrate on setting up my own operation or go back into a full-time position until I have completely planned my course of action? 

Many statistics say a down economy encourages the creation of new businesses… oftentimes due to lay-offs and people needing to create a new income for themselves. Seems like as good a time as any to test out the viability of a job!

Less pondering, more design tomorrow. Stay tuned and thanks again to all of you who are loyal readers! xoxo

No Responses Yet to “Ah, the joy of the layoff…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

