hand.written.letter.project

20Jan11

Craig Oldham is putting a project out into the universe. In an attempt to explore the art of personal communication and say “down with all the e-correspondence,” Oldham is collecting handwritten (and yes, SENT) letters. Via snail mail. Written in pen (or pencil, or crayon, or marker.. just no lipstick please. That crap smears all over the place.) Get out your most lovely paper or cardstock and enjoy the process of writing and adressing a letter. Make it pretty, make it neat, make it illegible. The best part is that in writing a letter you get to truly make it yours.

Intrigued? Participate! You may see your handiwork online and eventually in a book! Below is Craig’s blurb about the project… contact him or check out his site to participate.

hello@craigoldham.co.uk
http://www.craigoldham.co.uk/

From Craig:

The hand.written.letter.project. is a self-initiated project that undertaken after a conversation about how personal a letter can be: a fact that I feel is currently drowning in a tide of depersonalisation, junk mail and automated correspondence.

I feel there is always something nice about receiving a letter, especially these days when email, fax and text seem to do all the talking for us. In the ‘paperless office’ of today some people may lose sight of things that have been around for a while, like ink and paper.

However, I believe it is important that they don’t.
That’s why I initiated this project.

I have invited fellow designers to tackle the issue of personality in a world of depersonalisation, and to reflect on the state of transition from physical to digital, by recording their visual reaction to a letter (and it’s subject matter) sent to them.

They were the judge of what they did, I only asked that they recorded it onto their stationery and post it back to me.

To date I have received all kinds of letters from the Design industry (and I’d love to receive more) creating a visual narrative on the current cultural transition in which we find ourselves. I hope to make this collection available both digitally, through a website, and physically, in the form of a book.

Now, I must say that the project was initially intended to be a design based investigation however I was surprised one day when I received an unrequested letter. This letter* was from someone with no design background (or interest) but one who wanted to comment on the medium of letters. I guess you could say that the project has passed the ‘mum test’ and so, anyone can participate in the project.

So, to participate in The Hand.Written.Letter.Project. please send me your thoughts on your letterhead and post it to me at 22 Kings Road, Old Trafford, Manchester M16 7SD or to Craig Oldham, The Chase, 1 North Parade, Parsonage Gardens, Manchester M3 2NH.

If you’d prefer that I wrote to you and asked for your participation then get in touch and let me know your address.

Show me the letters.

Enjoy!

No Responses Yet to “hand.written.letter.project”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

